Learning about Golf: The U.S. Mid-Amateur Championship Edition

Check out that early morning fog. The air was so thick.

Check out that early morning fog. The air was so thick.

To be completely honest, I’m not a golf fan. I don’t know much about the game. I probably don’t even swing a club correctly, but recently the opportunity to witness golf first-hand came up when I found out my cousin Chris qualified for a golf tournament taking place about an hour from where I live. Perfect time for a new experience.

I’d never seen him play before and he’s pretty good. He’s been playing most of his life and has won many competitions and tournaments. He was a step away from qualifying for the U.S. Open for three straight years. He’s also a golf coach for a university near his hometown. So yeah, as I said, he’s pretty good.

This morning around 5:30 a.m. I traveled to the U.S. Mid-Amateur Championship to watch him tee off at 7:00 a.m. I ended up making it just in time to see him take his first swing on hole 1. I also figured this experience would allow me to learn more than the little I already know about golf, and I did pick up a few things:

1. Your shoes will get soaking wet from the dew on the grass in the early morning.

2. Be aware of other golfers so you are not in their way when they take their shots.

3. No one actually yells fore.

4. It’s much harder than it looks to hit straight shots on the fairway.

5. My cousin is an ace at chip shots.

6. Golfers use special binoculars that give them the distance to the pin.

7. The pin is the flagpole.

8. Leaving the pin in during chip shots can hinder your chances of getting the ball in, which is contrary to popular opinion.

9. The nicest golf courses have the least amount of divots.

10. Watching golf is more enjoyable when it’s not 90 degrees and humid.

Did I learn more than 10 things today? Probably. Can I remember the rest? Maybe, but not right now, so that’s all I’m giving you. If you know anything about golf, you’re probably shaking your head as you read this, but for my second time on a legitimate golf course, I feel like that’s pretty good (my first time was when I was 7 and I just remember not being that good and getting Burger King after).

Nonetheless, I did have a great time this morning and enjoyed watching my cousin do what he does best. He finished 2 over par and plays the second part of the qualifying round tomorrow on a different course. I was told he should probably play a little better to qualify for the next round so we’ll see what happens. Hopefully he makes it, but either way both he and I ended up with some Chipotle afterwards. Chipotle always equals win no matter what.

Leave a Reply

