Coachella Band Preview: Night Terrors of 1927

So the epic two weekend long Coachella Valley Arts & Music Festival begins on Friday. Finally! I’ve been waiting for about 8 months officially but it was about 10 months in the making. This is the last band preview for the 2015 festival, and in a way I struggled to figure out which band to do. There were a ton of options, but not many I could make connections with as I have with all the bands I’ve previewed so far. So I did some listening, reading, and reviewing and I found a new band for myself.

Night Terrors of 1927 was formed in 2012 by former front man of The Honorary Title, Jarrod Gorbel and former Rilo Kiley lead guitarist, Blake Sennett (Jenny Lewis of Rilo Kiley is also playing Coachella this year as a solo act). Some of you 90’s kids may even know Blake from his role as “Joey the Rat” on the TV show Boy Meets World or as Ronnie Pinsky from Salute Your Shorts. In 2013 they released a debut EP called Guilty Pleas. Their debut album, Everything’s Coming Up Roses, just came out in January. Now they’re on tour and making a stop in Indio along the way.

Their music may be considered indie pop but their album also sounds like it could be the soundtrack to a modern John Hughes film. It’s got the 80’s vibe, yet still a modern electronic indie feel. In fact, I’m pretty sure they could do a solid cover of “Don’t You (Forget About Me)”.

As for me and my connection to the band, I literally just found out about them on Thursday. I wish I had listened to them earlier because I really do like what I’m hearing. Unfortunately though, they play both weekends at Coachella on Sunday along with just about every other band I want to see. I’m not sure if they’ll conflict with anyone I already had planned to see. If not though, I think they’re worth checking out. Who knows, maybe they’ll end up blowing up like many other bands who have played Coachella have done before them. Well, it’s been real previewing these Coachella bands. For anyone headed to the festival over the next two weeks I hope you have an incredible time. As for me, I’ll recap everything next week some time. Until then, peace, love, and good vibes.

Song recommendations:

1. When You Were Mine (feat. Tegan & Sara)

2. Dust and Bones

3. Young and Vicious

4. Always Take You Back

5. Never One To Complain

Leave a Reply

